Weeks have passed, and my memory hasn’t failed either.
You may want to call me Mother Time;
What with my love for counting the seconds.
But I can’t help it when everything seems to move faster than my mind can process.
I can’t forget that first date.
It was magical, mystical and more than monumental.
My nerves danced, my soul sang, and for once in a very long time,
I was happy.
We talk every day now.
Neither of us can go to sleep without saying goodnight to each other.
Maybe poetic justice is creeping up on us but for now, no poet can do our love justice.
It’s fragile yet strong, uncertain yet sure of itself.
I’m scared of letting myself go fully, though.
Could he be the one?
Have I finally found my Happy Ever After?
This seems too good to be true.
What if in falling in love,
I fall too hard and crash and burn?
I can’t handle another heartbreak.
Another “Sorry, the wedding’s been cancelled.”
Another Christmas of watching my sister and her husband make memories with their children while I sit here,
Alone and unhappy.
But I don’t want to rush into the storm and get shipwrecked far from home.
I’m not Spiderman or Robinson Crusoe.
Oh, God! What do I do?!

10 thoughts on “Could 2+1 finally equal 3?

  1. The last line for me. Baarrrsssss babyπŸ˜‚πŸ’₯πŸ’₯
    But there norr you’ve already skipped the first date. How far with that?πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ’”πŸ€§

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment