Something’s wrong.
I don’t know what exactly it is yet but you have changed, Joe.
Oh sorry, Joseph, that’s what you said I should call you now, right?
You don’t want us to go anywhere apart from church.
Every. Single. Day.
Monday, let’s clean the church.
Tuesday, let’s go for prayer meeting.
Wednesday, meeting with pastor.
Thursday, midweek service.
Friday, Sunday School preparation.
Saturday, choir rehearsal.
And of course, Sunday church service.
Ei! Even Jesus left the church with his parents after being there for 3 days.
I love God but I know He wants us to enjoy life and His creation, right?
Remember when I invited you to a picnic at Legon Botanical Gardens? And what did you say?
“It’s too secular. Plus I need to be at the church to light candles. You can bring it here and help.”
I’m sure the steward is tired of seeing us there!!
Meanwhile, my friends haven’t seen me in ages because my schedule is now:
Home. Work. Church.
And the cycle continues.
I’m not bi but could you at least try to see my point of view?
I feel bad thinking this way.
Doing God’s work is important to me too.
Nevertheless, I’m constantly tired.
You make me feel like a sinner who’s in dire need of prayers when I want to stay home or go somewhere else.
I want this relationship to work but I can barely talk to you alone now.
Even on the phone, you’re either in a rush to do something else or you want us to pray.
It’s so serious that I’m even starting to miss he-who-shall-not-be-named.
God, could I get the Joe I used to know back? Please…

11 thoughts on “Five Weeks and Over??

Leave a comment